Department of Physics

  • About Department

  • The Department of Physics started functioning in 2010 though students took admission in 3 year Pass Course in 2011 for the first time . The department statted offering B.Sc Honourse Course in Physics from the year 2020.

  • Vision and Mission

Vision: "Providing a strong foundation in physics to prepare high quality technocrats"

Mission:To inspire and prepare the students to meet the needs of the nation. To impart basic concepts of science to evolving Engineers, this enables them to be high quality engineers.

  • Courses Offered

UG (B.Sc General course in Physics and B.Sc Major course in Physics)    Duration: Three Years(1+1+1). From 2014-2015 Credit Based Six-Semester Degree Programme Started 

  • Intake Capacity

B.Sc Major (Honours) in Physics- 10 seats

B.Sc General (Pass) in Physics- 20 seats

  • Eligibility Criteria for Entry Level
  1. For admission in B.Sc Pass Physics, the candidate should have passed H.S with Physics and Mathematics.
  2. Selection would be on merit basis subject to the fulfilment of the state government reservation policy.


Name Designation Qualification Specialization Image

Mr. Utpal Sarkar

Email: otpal77@gmail.com

Mobile: 9774132219

View Profile


Assistant Professor


M.Sc, B.Ed, NET










  • Facilities

Desktop Computer with Internet connection, Physics Lab. Smart Classroom, Departmental Library.

  • Seminar/Workshop Organized : Nil

The faculty members and students actively participate in the activities of the Science Forum of the College.

  • Project/Research : Nil

The students will have to carry on mandatory Project work as per University syllabus in the 6th Semester.