Department of Mathematics

  • About Department

  • The Department of Mathematics started functioning in 2010 though students took admission in 3 year Pass Course in 2011 for the first time . The department statted offering B.Sc Honourse Course in Mathematics from the year 2020.
  • Vision and Mission

The Department of Mathematics will offer courses of study that will ensure that the student will be able to contribute to our society. The students will obtain abilities to critically assess numerical and graphical information; learn to formulate strategies for solving problems. Mathematics develops computational skills, critical thinking, and problem solving skills. The theory, discipline and techniques taught in mathematics courses are especially important in today's society. The faculty of the Department of Mathematics recognizes this and strives to ensure that the student learner obtains this knowledge.

  • Courses Offered

UG (B.Sc General course in Mathematics and B.Sc Major course in Mathematics) .   Duration: Three Years(1+1+1). From 2014-2015 Credit Based Six-Semester Degree Programme Started.

  • Intake Capacity

B.Sc Major (Honours) in Mathematics- 10 seats

B.Sc General (Pass) in Mathematics- 20 seats

  • Eligibility Criteria for Entry Level
  1. For admission in B.Sc Pass Mathematics, the candidate should have passed H.S with Mathematics.
  2. Selection would be on merit basis subject to the fulfilment of the state government reservation policy.


Name Designation Qualification Specialization Image

Dr. Bimal Chandra Das (HOD)

Mobile: 9436496731

View Profile

Assistant Professor

M.SC; M.Phil in Mathematics; NET-JRF; CETE; Ph.D

Geometry, Spectral Theory, Sequence Space


  • Facilities

Desktop Computer with Internet connection, Chemistry Lab. Smart Classroom, Departmental Library.

  • Seminar/Workshop Organized : Nil

The faculty members and students actively participate in the activities of the Science Forum of the College.

  • Project/Research : One ongoing
  1. One Minor Research Projects is sanctioned on March 29, 2016 by the University Grand Commission (NERO) for the topic entitled “Studies on some triple sequence spaces” awarded to Sri Bimal Chandra Das, Department of Mathematics. This project has been implemented from 1st April, 2016.